Almost Smart Goals: Your Goals Don’t Have To Be Measurable (2 of 6)

1
It can be a great thing having a measurable goal. I can tell whether I’m there, or not. I can tell how far I have to go. It can be very motivating.
2
It can be a terrible thing to have a measurable goal. I can see the yawning chasm between where I need to be and where I am. It can be very demoralizing.
3
It can be a great thing to have a measurable goal. I can see all the progress I have made by that measure.  I can focus on that one next  action that moves the needle.
4
It can be a terrible thing to have a measurable goal. It can blinker my attention on the measurement,  when I need to be realizing something else.
5
It can be a great thing to have a measurable goal. It can really free up my attention to notice what really matters.
6
It can be a great thing to have a hammer, as long as I keep my eye on what I’m hitting with it and why.
7
It can be a terrible thing to have a hammer when a 2 year old gets a a hold of it and starts hitting things in my house to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

